RFID Toys Homepage
Holy crap, check out the Dangerous Things store!
Forum Home Forum Home > Implants, rants, philosophy, news, etc. > RFID Implantation
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Multiple RFID readers access control system

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote songbreaker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Multiple RFID readers access control system
    Posted: 11 March 2010 at 6:45am
Hello fellas,

I am sorry if I post this on wrong sections, could not find suitable one. Feel free to move the threads if you think it is unsuitable here...

Let me start by introducing who am I, what am I doing and how I ended up stumbled upon this awesome site.

I am a programmer, I have quite strong programming skills, be it in C++, C# or any other C-derived members.

Recently I am promoted to lead a project for a newly opened community college. Mind you this college is funded by state and...the state is happened to be not so rich. Well our state needs the college so that we can educate students from average income families.

The college is so new that we don't even have any attendant recording system. I was instructed to develop an RFID based attendant system that records students attendance when they enter the class.

Now, I have developed a single terminal RFID for smartcard data access by using EZWave reader and it was in C++. It was awesomely fun experience. The system contains a reader attached to a PC by serial port.

Back to the project. The proposal requires that each building has multiple access points. I can do that as same as previous system but it is gonna be so redundant and costly. If I am to follow the previous one, there is going to be one PC for each RFID reader..which I somehow think not so effecient..